• News from The Law Office of Sharif N. Abaza

PA Driver’s License Suspensions

Pennsylvania driving law requires the driving privilege of a person under the age of 18 to be suspended if that person accumulates six (6) or more points or is convicted of driving 26 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.

Under Pennsylvania driving law, the first suspension will be for a period of 90 days. Any additional occurrences will result in a suspension of 120 days.

Driver’s License Suspensions

Violations that Result in Driver’s License Suspensions

According to PA driving law, if you are convicted of any one of the following traffic law violations in Pennsylvania, your driving privilege will be suspended or revoked:

  • Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Any felony involving a vehicle
  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Failure to stop when you are driving a vehicle involved in a crash (hit and run offense)
  • Reckless driving
  • Racing on highways
  • Driving without lights to avoid identification
  • Fleeing from a police officer
  • Driving when your license is already suspended or revoked
  • A second or any additional offense of driving without a valid license within a 5-year period
  • Failure to stop for a school bus with its red lights flashing and stop arm extended (60-day suspension)
  • Failure to comply with a railroad crossing gate or barrier (30-day suspension).

Returning Your License to PennDot

If your driving privilege is to be suspended or revoked in Pennsylvania, a written notice listing the date when the suspension/revocation will begin will be mailed you. Your driver’s license must be returned by the effective date of suspension listed on the notice, or the police will be notified to pick up the license.

It’s important to know that under PA law, NO credit toward serving the suspension or revocation shall be earned until the driver’s license is surrendered to PennDOT.

Unlicensed Drivers In Pennsylvania

In the case of an unlicensed driver, an Acknowledgement of Suspension/Revocation (Form DL-16LC) or an affidavit acknowledging the sanction must be surrendered to PennDOT in lieu of a driver’s license.

Appealing Your Pennsylvania Driver’s License Suspension

Under PA traffic laws, drivers may appeal the suspension/revocation in the Court of Common Pleas (Civil Division) of their county of residence. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the mailing date of the notice. The Law Office of Sharif N. Abaza can assist you with your appeal.

How to Restore Your Driving Privilege After a License Suspension

In addition to serving the suspension or revocation, proof of payment for any fines and costs owed, proof of insurance (financial responsibility), and a restoration fee must be paid before driving privileges will be restored. Because each individual’s situation is unique and the restoration requirements vary, you should obtain a restoration requirements letter from PennDOT, which outlines the specific steps you must complete to have your driving privilege restored. You can access your restoration requirements letter online.

It’s important to be sure to print your restoration requirements letter once you access it online because PennDOT will not mail you a copy.

If you choose not to access your restoration requirements letter online, a letter will be mailed to your address of record approximately 30 days prior to your eligibility date, outlining everything you need to do to have your driving privilege restored. The restoration requirements letter is provided to you at no cost.

After Your Pennsylvania Driver’s License Suspension is Restored

After your PA driving privilege is restored, your driving record will show five points, regardless of the number of points that appeared on the record before the license was suspended, except in the cases of:

  • Underage drinking
  • A 15-day suspension resulting from a hearing for the second accumulation of six points
  • Suspension for failing to respond to a citation

If you have received a traffic ticket, traffic violations attorney Sharif Abaza can help you keep your license and minimize points. Call 215-525-4287 for a FREE consultation and evaluation of your case.

Pennsylvania Awards 12 Medical Marijuana Licenses

The Pennsylvania Department of Health awarded medical marijuana licenses to 12 growers out of the 177 applications it received. The medical marijuana license application process is proving very lucrative for Pennsylvania. After carving the state into six geographic regions, Pennsylvania officials awarded two medical marijuana licenses for each zone. To be considered, each applicant pays… Continue Reading

Do You Know the Gun Law in PA?

In Pennsylvania, state police run the background checks. Last year, they ran nearly a million. There is no waiting period in Pennsylvania, so once you pass the background check, which can only take a few minutes, you can buy a firearm. You do not have to register your gun in Pennsylvania, but state police do… Continue Reading

Distracted Driving Citations on the Rise in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, all drivers are prohibited from texting while driving which includes sending, reading or writing a text-based message or e-mail, and from wearing or using headphones or earphones while the car is in motion. Distracted driving citations increased by 43% statewide between 2014 and 2015 – with more men being cited (67%) than women… Continue Reading